Magpie's Guide to Roleplaying
Heart 
Magpie's Guide to Roleplay
Feeling bored one day, your local hipster bird decided to put together this little guide to roleplay. I've been roleplaying for a few years now, and I decided I might as well share some stuff I've learned over time. The aim of this guide is to help any newcomers to roleplaying understand how it works, how to roleplay well, and how to do it. It's a bit of reading, but if you're inexperienced with roleplaying, I suggest you give it a read. So without further ado:

Common Roleplaying Terms

RP - an abbreviation for 'roleplay.' Simple enough.

RPers - an abbreviation of 'roleplayers.' These are the members that are participating in a roleplay.

GM - a GM, game master. This is the admin of the RP. The creator. There can be multiple GMs. Whatever the GM says goes. They direct the flow of the RP.

Linear roleplay - A linear roleplay is a roleplay in which the GM directs the story and has a set plot in mind. The characters are meant to interact with one another. While the GM controls NPCs and possibly their own character, their main goal is to push the plot in certain directions. An example is my roleplay, The Flocks. In it, members create their own character that I, the GM, fit into the story. Linear RPs are where the characters react to the GM's decisions. They go on until the GM closes them. These can go on for any amount of time, and on this site we have quite a few long-running ones such as When Worlds Collide and Welcome to Gravity Falls.